Main topics

Glossary

Refugees

Region in
dimentions

Documents and testimonies

Nakhichevan

Shushi

To the first
pege

OVER TEN INTERNATIONAL TERRORIST NETWORKS EXPANDING
THEIR ACTIVITES IN AZERBAIJAN,

Including “Al Qaeda”, “Islamic Jihad”, “Jeishullar”, “Muslim Brotherhood”...

           

          Ahmad Kadirov, the leader of the Chechen Republic announced at the meeting with foreign journalists on July 25 that the Chechen separatists have close contacts with al Qaeda and other radical Islamic networks. According to Kadirov, the terrorists who receive external funding, penetrate into Chechnia via Azerbaijan, Georgia and Daghestan.
          The influential American “The Wall Street Journal” (July 21, 2002) referred to one of the perpetrators of the September 11 strike, Alman al Zauahri who spent several months in the 'international' town Baku, about the activities of the Baku cell of the Egyptian terrorist network 'Islamic Jihad'. The Wall Street Journal confirmed once again the involvement of Azerbaijan in the international terrorism.
          According to the American intelligence service, the preparation and organization of the explosions of the American Embassies in Kenya and Tanzania in August, 1999 when 224 innocent people died and over 5,000 were injured, were coordinated from Baku.
          On July 26 “Washington Profile”, an independent American information center wrote that as early as in the late 80s’ the terrorist network al Qaeda opened a cell in Baku and supported Azerbaijan in the war against Mountainous Karabagh. For the purpose of participating in the Karabagh war 1,500 Afghan mojaheds arrived in Azerbaijan in September of 1993. In the summer of 1994 their number reached 2,500. As a matetr of fact, in September of 1993 Heydar Aliyev was the senior Commander of the Armed Forced of Azerbaijan.
According to “Washington Profile” (July 5) the terrorist network al Qaeda, headed by Usama bin Laden, has decided to move its headquarters from Afghanistan to Baku. The head of the press-service of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Azerbaijan, Araz Kurbanov denied these news and qualified the statement as senseless since the Azeri authorities could not allow the terrorists to base in Azerbaijan (newspaper “Azatlig”, July 6). It should be noted that the information was provided to “Washington Profile” by the American secret service.
          “Given the favorable geographical position of Azerbaijan, al Qaeda established here as well and even developed the plan of exploding the American Embassy in Baku” (cf.: Central Asia-Caucasus Organization of John Hopkins University, Newsletter, July 17). According to the information of one of the American influential universities, in the late 80s’ a number of international terrorist networks, such as al Qaeda, HizbAllah, “Muslim Brotherhood”, established their cells in Azerbaijan.
          Undoubtedly, the Islamic terrorist networks functioning in Azerbaijan are not limited to the aforementioned ones, including Hisbut Tahrir, Jihad, Ihvan ul-Muslimin, etc.
          According to the statistics of the state committee on religious issues of Azerbaijan, there are over 2000 religious organizations in Azerbaijan of which only 400 are registered. It is clear that the authorities in Baku and personally Heydar Aliyev would not agree to the fact that any of such organizations, like al Qaeda or Islamic Jihad are registered with the state committee on religious issues of Azerbaijan.
          The widely spread corruption, the gradually deteriorating social-economic situation, the existence of over 500,000 refugees and several other factors have created fertile soil for the expansive activities of the terrorist networks. In respect of Azerbaijan some experts are concerned that the threat of Islamism will increasingly become more real in this former Soviet republic together with the escalation of the social-economic crisis in Azerbaijan.
          Today, after the religious vacuum of the Soviet period, the young generation in Azerbaijan again adheres to the Muslim traditions and regularly attends mosques. Mosques are being build in Baku and throughout Azerbaijan. According to the data for 2001, there were around 1500 mosques in Azerbaijan. Half of them were not registered and were maintained and financed from the funds provided by foreign countries, the terrorist and other organizations.
          On July 3, not far from Baku, in the settlement of Nardaran bloody conflict took place between the local believers and the police. According to the central newspapers of Azerbaijan, Nardaran is under control of the Islamic extremists and disobeys Baku. The protestors in Nardaran burnt ten police cars. Haji Alikram, one of the leaders of the Islamic Party of Azerbaijan qualified the incident in Nardaran as a “crusade” of the Azeri authorities against the believers. Heydar Aliyev strictly suppressed the commotion of the decent people of Nardaran.
          If the international terrorist networks operating in Azerbaijan threaten the countries of the region, the radical Islamatization of Azerbaijan is a threat to the position held by the Azeri authorities

Up

Главные темы

Глоссарий

Беженцы

Регион в измерениях

Документы и свидетельства

Нахичеван

Шуши

На первую
страницу

В АЗЕРБАЙДЖАНЕ РАЗВЕРНУЛИ ДЕЯТЕЛЬНОСТЬ БОЛЕЕ ЧЕМ ДЕСЯТЬ МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ ТЕРРОРИСТИЧЕСКИХ ОРГАНИЗАЦИЙ

В их числе - "Аль Каида", "Исламский джихад", "Джейшуллар", "Братья-мусульмане"...

           Руководитель администрации Чеченской Республики Ахмад Кадыров во время встречи, состоявшейся 25 июля с иностранными журналистами, заявил, что чеченские сепаратисты имеют тесные связи со штурмовиками "Аль Каиды", как и с другими радикальными исламскими организациями. Согласно Кадырову, террористы, получающие финансовую поддержку извне, проникают в Чечню из Азербайджана, Грузии и Дагестана.
           Влиятельная американская газета "The Wall Jornal" в номере от 21 июля рассказывает об одном из организаторов террористического акта 11 сентября Альмане аль Зауахри, который в "интернациональном" городе Баку провел несколько месяцев, о деятельности Бакинского филиала египетской террористической организации "Исламский джихад". Эта публикация вновь подтвердила причастность Азербайжана к международному терроризму.
          Согласно американским разведывательным службам, именно из Баку в августе 1999-го координировались действия по взрыву американских посольств в Кении и Танзании, невинными жертвами которых стали 224 человек, а более чем 5 тысяч были ранены.
           Независимый американский информационный центр "Washington Profile" 26 июня написал, что еще в конце 80-ых террористическая организация "Аль Каида" в Баку открыла офис и оказывала помощь Азербайджану в войне против Нагорного Карабаха. Для участия в карабахской войне сентябре 1993 года в Азербайджан прибыли 1,5 тысячи афганских моджахедов, а летом 1994 года их число достигло 2,5 тыс. Как известно, в сентябре 1993 года верховным главнокомандующим вооруженных сил Азербайджана являлся Гейдар Алиев.
           5 июля "Washington Profile" сообщил, террористическая организация "Аль Каида", руководимая Усамой бен Ладеном, решила свою штаб-квартиру из Афганистана перевести в Баку. На следующий день руководитель пресс-службы МИД Азербайджана Араз Курбанов в газете "Азадлыг" назвал нелепыми сведения о том, мол, власти могут позволить террористам обосноваться в Азербайджане. Интересно то, что информацию "Washington Profile" получил от американских спецслужб.
           17 июля в публикации организации Центральная Азия-Кавказ вашингтонского университета Джона Хопкинса отмечается: "Учитывая благоприятное географическое положение Азербайджана, "Аль Каида" здесь также основала свой филиал и даже разработала план взрыва посольства США в Баку". Согласно информации влиятельного университета США, в конце 80-ых в Азербайджане открыл свои филиалы ряд международных террористических организаций - "Аль Каида", "Хезболлах", "Братья-мусульмане".
           Безусловно, В Азербайджане действуют не только вышеперечисленные террористические организации. Если доверять издающимся в Баку "Событиям", то в Азербайджане имеют филиалы такие террористические организации, как "Хизбут тахрир", "Джихад", "Ихван уль-муслимин", РКК и т.д.
           По данным государственного комитета по вопросам религии Азербайджана, в Азербайджане действуют более 2000 религиозных организаций, из коих зарегистрированы лишь 400. Понятно, что власти Баку и лично Гейдар Алиев не допустят, например, "регистрации "Аль Каиды" или "Исламского джихада" в государственном комитете по вопросам религии Азербайджана.
           Широко распространенная коррупция, усугубляющаяся день ото дня социально-экономическая ситуация, наличие более чем полумиллиона беженцев, и ряд других обстоятельств создали для террористических организаций благодатную почву для развертывания плодотворной деятельности. В вопросе Азербайджана некоторые эксперты выражают свои опасения в связи с тем, что насколько углубится социально-экономический кризис, настолько станет реальной угроза исламизма в этой постсоветской республике.
           В Азербайджане, после советского 70-летнего религиозного вакуума, сегодня насчитывающая тысячи азербайджанская молодежь следует мусульманским традициям, периодически посещает мечети. В Баку и в других регионах республики развернулось строительство мечетей. По данным на 2001 год, в Азербайджане насчитывалось около 1500 мечетей, половина которых не зарегистрирована, а сохраняются и финансируются на средства, предоставленные иностранными государствами, террористическими и другими организациями.
           3 июля в селении Нардаран недалеко от Баку произошли кровопролитные столкновения между местными верующими и правоохранительными органами. Если верить бакинским газетам, то Нардаран находится под влиянием исламских радикалов и не подчиняется властям Баку. Демонстранты в Нардаране сожгли десять полицейских автомобилей, а один из лидеров Исламской партии Азербайджана Гаджи Аликрам инцидент в Нардаране квалифицировал как "крестовый поход" властей Баку против верующих. Гейдар Алиев жестоко подавил добропорядочных нардаранцев.
           Если действующие в Азербайджане международные террористические организации - угроза странам региона, то радикальная исламизация Азербайджана угрожает позиции бакинских властей.