Main topics

Glossary

Refugees

Region in
dimentions

Documents and testimonies

Nakhichevan

Shushi

To the first
pege

BAKU INTENDS TO RETURN KARABAGH WITH HELP OF MOSCOW
(Armen B. Khanbabyan)

 

          Surprisingly, right after the New Year holidays and Christmas increase of the diplomatic activity was observed with respect of Nagorno-Karabagh problem. The recent situation, on the contrary, gave rise to opposite prognoses. It was expected that in the near future no progress was likely to take place.
           The process of regulation of the problem, which at some time seemed to reach its boom has now retarded. The regular meetings between the leaders of Azerbaijan and Armenia are in the past . The noisy boom exploded around the original plan of the co-chairmen of Minsk Group - Russia, the USA and France, which set forth the idea of establishing of the so-called joint state, where the territorial wholeness would be preserved along with the nearly complete equality of the main sides of the conflicts, i.e., Nagorno-Karabagh Republic and Republic of Azerbaijan. At the end of 2000 and beginning of 2001 "historical" talks (as it was believed at that time) were held in Quay West in America and Paris. It was understood that the old conflict would be finally resolved.
           Alas, it was a premature optimism. As opposed to Yerevan and Stepanakert, Baku rejected the idea of a joint state. Later the Foreign Politics Agency of Azerbaijan disavowed all preliminary arrangements reached in America and France. The Azeri minister of foreign affairs Vilayat Guliyev announced that there were no "Parisian principles" for settling the Karabagh conflict which apparently caused confusion among the mediators. However, it is not likely that they changed their approaches. At any rate, President Jacques Shirak sent a message to Robert Kocharyan on the 19th of this January where, in particular, he expressed hope that the settlement of the problem could base on the principles developed by the leaders of the three aforementioned states in Paris.
           The apparent slowdown of the peaceful process obliged the mediators to revise to a certain extent the possible mechanisms of transferring the dialogue from the stratum of non-obliging announcements of intend to concrete actions. According to Henri Kuni, the Ambassador of France to Armenia, the solution of the issue should be reached both in Yerevan and Baku, and the Minsk Group of OSCE merely may play the role of a catalyst in the process". This means that the responsibility for the future of the region and the perspective of the development of the South Caucasus states directly rests with the leaders of the above-mentioned states.
           As usual, the carrot and stick policy was applied. There were talks about the major significance of the region in the international distribution of labor and the role of the region as the key element in numerous transport and energy projects, such as TRASECCA and INOGATE. It has been reasonably noted that the on-going confrontation seriously hinders the social-economic, political and cultural development of the newly established independent states while the establishment of sound peace would enhance the accelerated major progress in all above areas.
           On the other hand, there is the growing risk that the peace-makers will be completely disappointed in the intention of the conflicting sides to achieve real compromise. According to Rudolf Perina, the American co-chairman of the Minsk Group, "the window of alternatives for the settlement of the conflict may be closed". At the same time, a working group for Karabagh was created in the Parliamentary Assembly of OSCE. Adrian Severin, the president of the Assembly stated that due to the said fact reconciliation and rehabilitation may be fostered". Jaime Gama, the present chairman of OSCE stated that "the organization considers Mountainous Karabagh to be one of the regions where OSCE will be more actively involved in peace-making and post-crisis regulation".
           Nevertheless, the words of the American diplomat were duly impressive. In his comments on the statement of Perina President Kocharyan agreed that "the international community cannot focus constantly on this problem. There are numerous other conflicts in the world which need to be settled". On the other hand, the Armenian president also noted that "the process of regulation cannot advance at an invariable pace and it is impossible to always maintain the same level of effectiveness". In the discussions with OSCE official Yerevan will continue defending the legal aspect of Karabagh conflict, which, in essence, is based on the idea that Mountainous Karabagh will never become part of independent Azerbaijan". In its turn, Karabagh considers that the success of the peacemaking process directly depends on the participation of the representatives from Stepanakert in the negotiations. Traditionally, Baku is against such approach. Nevertheless, Karabagh states that it does not intend to follow any decisions taken by anybody without its participation.
           In view of the above-stated there are no grounds for believing in any progress in the near future with respect of establishing sound peace. Therefore, the statement made by President Aliyev recently sounded rather extraordinary. In particular, he said that the problem could be finally settled this year. The optimism of the Azeri president might be based on the hope that the Russian diplomacy will become more influential within Minsk Group. According to some sources, the Karabagh problem was thoroughly discussed between Geydar Aliyev and Bladimir Putin during the visit of the Azeri leader to Moscow. Russia is interested in the successful establishment of peace, and the improving Russian-Azeri relations allow Baku to hope that the Kremlin will be supporting Azerbaijan.
           Azerbaijan positively strives for becoming Russia's main military and political ally in Transcaucasus, i.e., intends to be in the position which is currently "held" by Armenia. Naturally, this irritates Yerevan. Today Armenia suspects that at a certain moment Russia may think it appropriate to exhort pressure on Yerevan and Stepanakert and force them to go to compromises that the latter think are unrealistic. On the other hand, it is clear that the Armenian diplomacy will not be able to continuously resist the pressure of the mediators, particularly if such pressure is accompanied by the expansion of the assistance to Azerbaijan.


UP

Главные темы

Глоссарий

Беженцы

Регион в измерениях

Документы и свидетельства

Нахичеван

Шуши

На первую
страницу

БАКУ ХОЧЕТ ВЕРНУТЬ КАРАБАХ С ПОМОЩЬЮ МОСКВЫ
(Армен Борисович Ханбабян)

      Сразу после новогодних и рождественских каникул наблюдатели не без удивления отметили рост дипломатической активности вокруг нагорнокарабахской проблематики. Обстоятельства последнего времени, напротив, порождали прогнозы обратного порядка. Представлялось, что в обозримой перспективе ожидать подвижек здесь не приходится.
      Ведь бум, который в определенный момент переживал процесс урегулирования, давно сошел на нет. В прошлом остались регулярные встречи между руководителями Азербайджана и Армении. Схлынул ажиотаж, вызванный оригинальным планом сопредседателей Минской группы ОБСЕ - России, США и Франции, выдвинувших идею создания так называемого общего государства, в котором при сохранении принципа территориальной целостности предусматривалось почти полное равноправие главных сторон конфликта - самопровозглашенной НКР и Азербайджанской Республики. В конце 2000-го и в начале 2001 г. состоялись "исторические", как тогда представлялось, переговоры в американском Ки-Уэсте и в Париже, после чего стало создаваться впечатление, что застарелый конфликт вот-вот будет разрешен.
     Увы, оптимизм оказался преждевременным. В отличие от Еревана и Степанакерта Баку отказался от реализации плана общего государства, а спустя некоторое время азербайджанское внешнеполитическое ведомство дезавуировало и все предварительные договоренности, достигнутые в Америке и Франции. Министр иностранных дел Азербайджана Вилаят Гулиев заявил, что "парижских принципов" карабахского урегулирования не существует. Это вызвало явное недоумение посредников, но вряд ли повлияло на их подходы. Во всяком случае, президент Жак Ширак 19 января нынешнего года направил Роберту Кочаряну послание, в котором, в частности, выражается надежда, что урегулирование может базироваться именно на тех принципах, которые были выработаны главами трех государств в Париже.
      Явная пробуксовка миротворческого процесса заставила посредников в определенной степени пересмотреть возможные механизмы перевода диалога из области ни к чему не обязывающих деклараций о намерениях в сферу конкретных дел. Как заявил французский посол в Ереване Анри Кюни, решение вопроса "должно быть найдено в Баку и Ереване, а Минская группа ОБСЕ может сыграть лишь роль катализатора в этом процессе". Это означает, что ответственность за судьбу региона и перспективы развития государств Южного Кавказа возлагается непосредственно на лидеров этих государств.
      Как принято в подобных случаях, была применена методика "кнута и пряника". Стали говорить о большом значении региона в международном разделении труда и в качестве узлового элемента многочисленных транспортно-энергетических проектов, например ТРАСЕКА и ИНОГЕЙТ. Справедливо отмечается, что дальнейшее продолжение противостояния ощутимо тормозит социально-экономическое, политическое и культурное развитие новых независимых государств, в то время как установление прочного мира способствовало бы быстрому и ощутимому прогрессу во всех названных областях.
      
С другой стороны, появилась (или стала симулироваться) опасность того, что миротворцы окончательно разуверятся в стремлении конфликтующих сторон к достижению реального компромисса. По словам американского сопредседателя Минской группы Рудольфа Перины, "окно возможностей для урегулирования конфликта может закрыться". Но одновременно с этим в Парламентской ассамблее ОБСЕ была создана рабочая группа по Карабаху, а президент ПА ОБСЕ Адриан Северин заявил, что это обстоятельство способно "поощрить примирение и реабилитацию". А действующий председатель ОБСЕ, министр иностранных дел Португалии Жайме Гама сказал, что организация "рассматривает Нагорный Карабах в числе тех регионов, где ОБСЕ предстоит наиболее интенсивно заниматься миротворчеством и посткризисным урегулированием".
      Тем не менее слова американского дипломата явно произвели необходимое впечатление. Комментируя высказывание Перины, президент Кочарян согласился, что "мировое сообщество не может бесконечно держать эту проблему в центре своего внимания - в мире есть множество других конфликтов, требующих решения". Правда, президент Армении заметил также, что проблема Карабаха столь сложна, что "процесс урегулирования не может продвигаться с неизменной скоростью и продуктивностью". Официальный Ереван в формате дискуссий в рамках ОБСЕ по-прежнему будет "отстаивать правовой аспект карабахской проблемы, основная суть которого состоит в том, что Нагорный Карабах никогда не был в составе независимого Азербайджана". В свою очередь, НКР напрямую связывает успех миротворчества с участием в переговорном процессе представителей Степанакерта, против чего традиционно возражает Баку. Однако карабахская сторона указывает, что не намерена подчиняться каким-либо решениям, принятым кем бы то ни было у нее за спиной.
      Все это не дает оснований рассчитывать на скорые подвижки в деле установления прочного мира. Поэтому достаточно неожиданно прозвучало недавнее заявление президента Алиева о том, что проблема может найти свое окончательное решение уже в нынешнем году. Не исключено, что подобный оптимизм связан с надеждами на усиление влияния российской дипломатии в рамках Минской группы. По некоторым сведениям, карабахская проблема подробно обсуждалась Гейдаром Алиевым и Владимиром Путиным в ходе завершившегося визита азербайджанского лидера в Москву. Россия заинтересована в успехе миротворчества, а прогрессирующее в последнее время российско-азербайджанское сближение порождает в Баку надежды на поддержку Кремля.
      Азербайджан настойчиво стремится стать основным военно-политическим союзником России в Закавказье, то есть претендует на место, "занятое" в настоящий момент Арменией. Что не может не вызывать раздражения в Ереване. В Армении начинают подозревать, что в определенный момент российская сторона сочтет целесообразным усилить давление на Ереван и Степанакерт, пытаясь заставить их пойти на уступки, которые здесь полагают немыслимыми. В то же время ясно, что вечно противостоять давлению посредников, особенно если это давление будет сопровождаться расширением помощи Азербайджану, армянская дипломатия не сможет.


Вверх страницы